Apparently nothing else from the story actually stuck with me other than that there was some problem and the train overcame it. However, considering I heard it many decades ago, I’m pretty impressed that I have any memory of it at all. Recently, I revisited it and realized there was more to the story than the tiny parts I remember. I enjoyed it a great deal. It has an excellent lesson about persistence and believing in yourself, and it is still a good read even for an adult. Naturally, there are far more children’s train books out there than just this one. Below is a list of some of the best I have found for your train enthusiasts. These are mostly for younger readers, but there are a few middle grade reads, too, in case you need a slightly longer train book to dig into.

Train Books for Kids Who Are Middle Grade Readers

And that’s it for my train books for kids list! My personal favorites are Kim Hyo-eun’s I am the Subway and Jodie Callaghan’s The Train. I hope you also find some titles that appeal in there. If you’re still looking for more, you might want to check out this list about six picture books with vehicles.

All Aboard For The Best Train Books for Kids  - 62All Aboard For The Best Train Books for Kids  - 45All Aboard For The Best Train Books for Kids  - 57All Aboard For The Best Train Books for Kids  - 71All Aboard For The Best Train Books for Kids  - 33All Aboard For The Best Train Books for Kids  - 83All Aboard For The Best Train Books for Kids  - 52All Aboard For The Best Train Books for Kids  - 76All Aboard For The Best Train Books for Kids  - 9All Aboard For The Best Train Books for Kids  - 88